RSS Feed

New (and Special) Stuff at Del Frisco’s

They had me at the corn! Then again, if you make your way to Del Frisco’s Double Eagle Steak House in Houston to record radio about Rodeo Uncorked – yes, that would be “radio about rodeo” – GM Arthur Mooradian isn’t likely to let you leave after only the corn dish with bacon and jalapeno they’re serving for Best Bites. After all, Del Frsco’s has developed a steady habit of winning the People’s Choice portion of the thing.

Besides the magnificent corn dish (which inspired me to rework one of my original recipes for south Louisiana maque choux to taste more like it), Arthur also shared a tasting portion of the beef-on-skewers dish they’ll be serving at Best Bites, this one with a sauce spiked with Jack Daniel’s. And just to make sure I remembered where I got it, the chefs sent out my alltime fave Del Frisco’s appetizer: sweet-and-hot Shanghai calamari.

Before long, with dish after dish arriving at our table, the foods Del Frisco’s is creating for Best Bites began to run together in my head with the foods being introduced on their new bar menu. A lot of people, it turns out, have dinner at Del Frisco’s bar. And I can’t wait for my next encounter with these parmesan-garlic baked oysters. I grew up around Rockefeller and Bienville, and I think these are better than any version I’ve had of either.

Finally, another new dish on the bar menu has traveled what the Beatles would declare a long and winding road. The notion of Philly cheesesteak eggrolls began, by all accounts, at Del Frisco’s sister (or brother?) concept Sullivan’s. And they made the crossing as well to the brand-new, more casual Del Frisco’s Grilles in Dallas and New York City. After a tweak here and a tweak there, fans of the dish can now enjoy it at Double Eagle. Along with everything else!

About John DeMers

I've been a journalist and author forever. My favorite single word in the English language is "foodandwine." This spirit drives my 45 published books and my weekly radio show heard in Houston, Dallas and Austin.

Leave a Reply

