RSS Feed

A Filling Visit to Gates BBQ in Kansas City

As amiable 80-year-old Ollie Gates was quick to tell me, when his father started the family barbecue joint in Kansas City at the end of World War II, you wouldn’t have seen blacks and whites ordering food in the same line. “As late as 1960,” he assured me, seemingly amazed by the progress we’ve made together, “I couldn’t even sit in places I own restaurants now.”

Gates BBQ grew out of a former joint called Ol Kentuck. For a long time it was known as Gates and Son, in tribute to Ollie – who built the business upward and outward from its original single location. Now, since Ollie’s daughters work in the business along with his son, the family settles for  Gates BBQ.

There’s a whole lot of different meats offered at Gates, as well as at other famous KC barbecue destinations like Arthur Bryant’s and the much newer Oklahoma Joe’s in a gas station across the state line in Kansas. But our favorite is always the pork ribs, shown here with not only French fries but slices of smoked brisket and smoked turkey.

Visiting the pit at Gates BBQ, and seeing this fellow pull out a slab of ribs for my camera, reminds me of my very first visit – back in the mid ’80s. I decided to take a slab home to New Orleans, in those innocent days before TSA.  I did that with no major problem, except for all my fellow passengers complaining to the flight attendants that if I was going to “stink up the whole plane,” I’d better be ready to share the wealth. I made it home with my ribs intact.

About John DeMers

I've been a journalist and author forever. My favorite single word in the English language is "foodandwine." This spirit drives my 45 published books and my weekly radio show heard in Houston, Dallas and Austin.

2 responses »

  1. My family and I have been coming to Gates since I was about 6 years old and I still eat there. My fatherhas a company by the name Ifbba in which you are sponsers for. My main comment is why did you all take shrimp off the menu? Please bring it back so my children can enjoy the same taste as I did. Thanks in Advance

    signed Cuba Moore of Kansas City

    Reply
  2. Best damn sauce in the world!!! Thanks gates!Send me a bottle we can’t get it here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

