RSS Feed

Dessert Nachos at the Gage Hotel

I think I had one of the best desserts of my life last night at Twelve Gage, the newly baptized restaurant at the legendary Gage Hotel in Marathon, population 400 or so. I think it must have taken all 400 to pitch in making this dessert. Deconstructed a bit – something I hate it when chefs do – the base here is cinnamon and sugar bunuelos (kind of related to sopapillas, except flatter and crisper). Then there are scoops of three different flavors of ice cream: praline with crumbled pecans, “coffee and doughnuts,” and a pink-purple wonder made with blackberry and way-local prickly pear. On top of that, there’s a drizzle of chocolate and caramel sauces, a handful of thinly sliced strawberries and a few dollops of whipped cream. I know Marathon is the Gateway to Big Bend National Park in Far West Texas, but after this dessert, I don’t feel ready for any kind of hiking or climbing.

About John DeMers

I've been a journalist and author forever. My favorite single word in the English language is "foodandwine." This spirit drives my 45 published books and my weekly radio show heard in Houston, Dallas and Austin.

Leave a Reply

