RSS Feed

Opening Night at Philippe Restaurant + Lounge

After more than a week of practice-makes-perfect dinners, the long-anticipated Philippe Restaurant + Lounge opened to the public last night. Congrats to chef Philippe Schmit. For my detailed review, wait for the March HOUSTON Magazine. But for now, here are a few photo highlights from last night, starting with my beloved duck confit tamales pictured above.

 

You pretty much aren’t French if you don’t like a big bowl or platter of moules – mussels cooked with wonderful things like tomatoes, garlic and white wine. Chef Philippe is so French he serves the dish with French fries.

 

Shepherd’s pie is one of those great dishes I’m pretty sure I met long ago in my grade school cafeteria – and anything that layers meat and mashed potatoes isn’t likely to be bad. Here, though, the mashed potatoes are truffled, and the meat is duck breast and duck confit. This is also the first time I ever loved Brussels sprouts, because I think they tasted like bacon.

 

We had to try a few desserts, and this was my favorite. Yes, it’s a kind of tarte Tatin, another standard of French food everywhere. But here it borrows from good-old American 1950s pineapple upside down cake – except with apples!

About John DeMers

I've been a journalist and author forever. My favorite single word in the English language is "foodandwine." This spirit drives my 45 published books and my weekly radio show heard in Houston, Dallas and Austin.

Leave a Reply

