RSS Feed

‘Marfa Shadows’ at Knife and Fork

Tonight, at the end of a drive that carried me from Marfa west to El Paso and then east to San Antonio and Houston, I spoke to that final city’s Knife and Fork Club about my new mystery novel Marfa Shadows. The fact that the dinner was black tie made the post-trip cleanup a bit more challenging than my typical jeans, western shirt, boots and Marfa Low Crown hat would have been – but I suppose that effort added to the fun.

I spoke for an hour to about 10o people at Lakeside Country Club on Wilcrest then sat behind a table piled with books to sully my artistic hands with commerce. Truth be told, as much as I love speaking about and reading from Marfa Shadows, the commerce may well be my favorite part. One lovely lady named Pamela even said she was putting aside Dickens’ Great Expectations to read my book. Dickens… oh that’s just great!

About John DeMers

I've been a journalist and author forever. My favorite single word in the English language is "foodandwine." This spirit drives my 45 published books and my weekly radio show heard in Houston, Dallas and Austin.

2 responses »

  1. I’m sure you did beautifully John, but what happened to the bedazzled rhinestone formal cowboy hat I so brilliantly suggested!? 🙂

    Reply
  2. houstonartsweek

    It was stolen by Glen Campbell…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

